Bread – my most dreaded task.

So…Bread.
I know making bread isn’t a difficult thing but it is a thing I just couldn’t be bothered making. However, my mum had got me a lovely bread baking kit for christmas and my husband was at work on Saturday so I was at a loose end.
Even though I have about 25 cook books I quickly looked for a recipe on the internet. Don’t get me wrong, I know how to make bread. I watched Great British Bake off and saw plenty of bread being made! I just needed the quantities from the recipe.

500g strong white flour
7g dried yeast
Pinch salt
350ml lukewarm water

I just wanted a simple white loaf.
So I made it, I even bothered to knead it for 10 minutes. I was channelling Paul Hollywood. I even put the heating on so that the bread could prove by the radiator.
Proving was done, knocking back was done, prove again and then cook.
To my astonishment it came out looking like a proper loaf of bread!
The moral of the story really is that sometimes (a lot of the time) I really can’t be bothered but maybe I should be.
Next week I’m going to kick Choux pastries ass to get my own back for my floppy eclairs I did last time.

Leave a Reply

