Krabby Patty

Good evening,
Just another midweek tea blog for you again.
Tonight I made Simon Rimmer’s Spicy crab cakes. I made some alterations to the recipe mostly for personal tastes. The original recipe had peas and coconut in it but I hate peas and Mr hates coconut.
So forgive the awful photo as I wasn’t going to blog them but they tasted so good I thought it would be a shame not to!
Recipe:
225g cold mash (I’m a cheating midweek harlot and use instant)
225g crabmeat (from a tin as I’m not that posh)
1 tbsp chopped mint and same chopped coriander (fresh!!!)
2 thinly chopped spring onions
1 tsp chilli flakes
1 tsp coriander seeds
6 or so black pepper corns

Coating:
100g fresh breadcrumbs
2 whisked eggs
Some plain flour

Method:
Dry fry chilli flakes, coriander seeds and peppercorns for a couple of minutes till they start to smell spicy.
Once they are done, if you have a pestle and mortar then grind them to a powder, if like me you haven’t then stick them between clingfilm and bash them with a rolling pin.
In a bowl mix everything else together with the spices and mush it to make sure the spices are evenly distributed.
Finally the recipe calls for them to be Floured, egged and breadcrumbed before shallow frying. I did this and they were very good. Equally I suppose you could just fry them without doing this but they would be less crunchy.
I just served them with salad and loads of mayo (I have a mayo problem) and we both thoroughly enjoyed them.

Leave a Reply

